First rule: There are no rules 

I am not an exception to the rule. I’m not special. I’m not unique. What am I am however is someone who questions the authenticity of the ‘rules’. That is not to say that I am a rebel. Far from it in fact, I was the epitome of a ‘goody-two-shoes’ at school. Often branded a teacher’s pet. And ‘weird’. That phrase was also usually thrown about. I didn’t own being weird either. I desperately craved acceptance and popularity. I wanted to be one of the ‘cool’ kids. Though thinking back, I probably was cool. In my own way. I remember being branded a conspiracy theorist at the age of 9 as I was convinced Princess Di had died under suspicious circumstances. I also remember having an awesome physics teacher who furthered my belief that it was only logical to believe that aliens existed. As I said, I was a bit of an odd ball. I also remember my parents being informed at a school parents evening when I was about 7 or 8 that I asked a lot of questions. This was not relayed enthusiastically. I remember thinking why on earth shouldn’t I ask a lot of questions though. What are they hiding!? As I said, I was a precarious child. I remember thinking that that Pinnochio kid had the right idea, always asking why. Although what he should have probably been asking is why I grey-haired old man spent so much time with puppets and decided the only way to have a son was to wish one alive. Not quite sure I knew where you were going with that one Disney. Nonetheless, I’ve always asked questions and it is these that have led me to wonder about the validity of certain rules. Certain cultural customs that we just blindly accept. And as I have become more startlingly aware of these unspoken rules, I have become more inclined to challenge them. Once again I should point out that I am not a rebel. In any way, shape or form. This is not me advocating the lure of danger, or living on the edge, nor am I asking you to be more adventurous or to break the rules. It is simply an admission, perhaps more so to myself more than anyone, that I’m going to have to be okay with the fact that perhaps not everyone wants to challenge certain systems and may not understand my reasons for doing so. But perhaps we don’t have to constantly vocalise all of our opinions (I realise that this may seem like a particularly foreign concept in current society as we spend the majority of our time on social media platforms doing precisely this, I also note the irony as I share this train of thought on social media). I suppose what I’m getting it is not only are there preconceived notions of acceptable or accepted behaviour, but also of those of ‘rule breakers’. When perhaps in actuality, there are no rules. There is only behaviour. Behaviour deemed to be normal. But in reality, there is no normal. 

Leave a Reply

